Walnut High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Advanced Placement (AP) » 2020 AP EXAM SCHEDULE

2020 AP EXAM SCHEDULE

GOOD LUCK MUSTANGS!!! YOU WILL DO GREAT!!! WE BELIEVE IN YOU #MUSTANGPRIDE

Exams by Local Start Times

Below are the primary exam dates. Makeup exam dates can be found below the Course Specific Exam Information.

Exam Start Times: Local times may vary depending on a student's geographic location.

Hawaii Time: 6:00am
Alaska Time: 8:00am
Pacific Time: 9:00am
Mountain Time: 10:00am
Central Time: 11:00am
Eastern Time: 12:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 4:00pm

Hawaii Time: 8:00am
Alaska Time: 10:00am
Pacific Time: 11:00am
Mountain Time: 12:00pm
Central Time: 1:00pm
Eastern Time: 2:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 6:00pm

Hawaii Time: 10:00am
Alaska Time: 12:00pm
Pacific Time: 1:00pm
Mountain Time: 2:00pm
Central Time: 3:00pm
Eastern Time: 4:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 8:00pm

11-May

Physics C: Mechanics

Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

United States Government and Politics

12-May

Latin

Calculus AB

 

Calculus BC

Human Geography

13-May

Physics 2: Algebra-Based

English Literature and Composition

European History

14-May

Spanish Literature and Culture

Chemistry

Physics 1: Algebra-Based

15-May

Art History

United States History

Computer Science A

18-May

Chinese Language and Culture

Biology

Environmental Science

19-May

Music Theory

Psychology

Japanese Language and Culture

 

Italian Language and Culture

20-May

German Language and Culture

English Language and Composition

Microeconomics

21-May

French Language and Culture

World History: Modern

Macroeconomics

22-May

Comparative Government and Politics

Statistics

Spanish Language and Culture

 

As of 4/3/2020: Exam Dates

Most AP teachers and students we surveyed prefer to test earlier, while the content is still fresh.

Exams will be given from May 11–22.

Makeup test dates will be available for each subject from June 1–5.

Students can take exams at home or in schools, if they reopen.

Each subject's exam will be taken on the same day at the same time, worldwide.

Exam Format

Most exams will have one or two free-response questions, and each question will be timed separately. Students will need to write and submit their responses within the allotted time for each question.

Students will be able to take exams on any device they have access to—computer, tablet, or smartphone. They'll be able to type and upload their responses or write responses by hand and submit a photo via their cell phones.

For most subjects, the exams will be 45 minutes long, plus an additional 5 minutes for uploading. Students will need to access the online testing system 30 minutes early to get set up.

Certain courses—Art and Design: 2D; Art and Design: 3D; Computer Science Principles; Drawing; Research; and Seminar—will use portfolio submissions and will not have a separate online exam. All deadlines for these submissions have been extended to May 26, 2020, 11:59 p.m. ET. Teachers and students may receive separate course-specific communications.

Students taking world language and culture exams will complete two spoken tasks consistent with free-response questions 3 and 4 on the current AP Exam. Written responses will not be required. We'll provide additional details in the coming weeks to help students prepare.

To learn more about the rationale behind the exam content, watch Trevor Packer's presentation.