Walnut High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Facebook Twitter Instagram

IMPORTANT: 2020 AP EXAMINATION UPDATES (COLLEGEBOARD)

UPDATE: 5/17/ 2020

College Board has listened to the many complaints regarding issues with last week’s exams and is making adjustments for this week and the makeup exams.  PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING AS IT CONTAINS IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING SUBMISSION OF YOUR EXAMS.

 

Submitting Exam Responses

We share the deep disappointment of students who were unable to submit responses.

Beginning Monday, May 18, and continuing through the makeup window, there will be a backup email submission process for browser-based exams.

This option will only be available for students who were not able to submit in the standard process—and they must then email their responses immediately following their exam.

These students will see instructions about how to email their response on the page that says, "We Did Not Receive Your Response." The email address that appears on this page will be unique to each student.

Any student testing between May 18–22 who can't successfully upload their response through the exam platform or send it to us by email, will need to request a makeup exam.

To protect the security and validity of exams, we're unable to accept submissions from students who tested May 11–15. However, these students can feel confident that the email option will be in place for them during the makeup exams.

Email submissions will not be available for the World Language exams.

COLLEGEBOARD UPDATE: 5/3/2020

Information for AP students and parents:

Get ready for your online AP exams!  Please review the following information to assure you are prepared and have a successful exam session.  Stay healthy and study hard!

4/28/2020 

New resources are available!  The College Board released the following documents today: 

o   AP Testing Guide 2020 (see attached) provides important information about your testing ticket, exam day preparation, what to expect, and scoring.

o   AP Student Exam Day Checklist (see attached)  Please print and complete this checklist.  Have it available on exam day.

o   Explainer Videos are available to give you quick, easily accessible information about your test day experience, what you need to do to prepare, exam security, and more. Explore the playlist. 

 

·         AP Exam Demo (available May 4)  You should use the clickable exam demo to practice the different ways to submit your exam responses. The demo will help you confirm that your testing device will be able to access and run the online exam. If you can’t access the demo, the final slide of the Testing Guide can help you troubleshoot. Note: The sample content in the demo will be the same for all users and isn't a practice exam.

 

·         AP Chinese, French, German, and Spanish will be administered using a new dedicated app, the AP World Languages Exam App. Students taking these exams must use this app on smartphones or tablets. This free app will be available for download from the Apple App Store and Google Play Store the week of May 11. College Board will email students and teachers to let them know when the app is available to download.  If you are unsure about accessing the app, or if you don’t have a device, fill out this survey as soon as possible so College Board can help support you.

 

·         AP Music Theory students will need to print or hand-copy the 2020 Music Theory Answer Sheet (see attached) and gain access to an audio recording app or software before exam day. Please see more information on the website.

From the Collegboard
 
"We recognize that some students may not have access to the tools and connectivity they need to review AP content online and take the exam. If your students need mobile tools or connectivity, you can reach out to us directly to let us know—just fill out this form by April 24. (Formulario disponible aquí en español.)"
As of 4/13/2020

Updates for Students

Sign in to see how we’ve:

Highlighted free AP live classes on every student's homepage, and added links to recorded classes on key topics and review concepts.

Enabled all free-response questions to be taken by students at home on any device, without requiring the LockDown Browser.

Provided optional, self-paced student practice, with free-response questions to help students practice their knowledge and skills as they prepare for the exam. Students can see scoring criteria from past exams to help revise their responses.

Added each student's written or uploaded response to their student report, so they can view their response alongside scores and get feedback from teachers.

Helped students stay signed in, especially during online tests.

THURSDAY, APRIL 16th- How to Prepare for AP-Home Exams
1. Trevor Packer will be hosting a parent webinar to discuss this year’s at-home exams and how to help students prepare.  If you could share with the parents in your school and other social media outlets, we would appreciate it!

As of 4/3/2020 Exam Dates

Most AP teachers and students we surveyed prefer to test earlier, while the content is still fresh.

Exams will be given from May 11–22.

Makeup test dates will be available for each subject from June 1–5.

Students can take exams at home or in schools, if they reopen.

Each subject's exam will be taken on the same day at the same time, worldwide.

As of 4/3/2020

Exams by Local Start Times

Below are the primary exam dates. Makeup exam dates can be found below the Course Specific Exam Information.

Exam Start Times: Local times may vary depending on a student's geographic location.

Hawaii Time: 6:00am
Alaska Time: 8:00am
Pacific Time: 9:00am
Mountain Time: 10:00am
Central Time: 11:00am
Eastern Time: 12:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 4:00pm

Hawaii Time: 8:00am
Alaska Time: 10:00am
Pacific Time: 11:00am
Mountain Time: 12:00pm
Central Time: 1:00pm
Eastern Time: 2:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 6:00pm

Hawaii Time: 10:00am
Alaska Time: 12:00pm
Pacific Time: 1:00pm
Mountain Time: 2:00pm
Central Time: 3:00pm
Eastern Time: 4:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 8:00pm

11-May

Physics C: Mechanics

Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

United States Government and Politics

12-May

Latin

Calculus AB

 

Calculus BC

Human Geography

13-May

Physics 2: Algebra-Based

English Literature and Composition

European History

14-May

Spanish Literature and Culture

Chemistry

Physics 1: Algebra-Based

15-May

Art History

United States History

Computer Science A

18-May

Chinese Language and Culture

Biology

Environmental Science

19-May

Music Theory

Psychology

Japanese Language and Culture

 

Italian Language and Culture

20-May

German Language and Culture

English Language and Composition

Microeconomics

21-May

French Language and Culture

World History: Modern

Macroeconomics

22-May

Comparative Government and Politics

Statistics

Spanish Language and Culture

 

Exam Format

Most exams will have one or two free-response questions, and each question will be timed separately. Students will need to write and submit their responses within the allotted time for each question.

Students will be able to take exams on any device they have access to—computer, tablet, or smartphone. They'll be able to type and upload their responses or write responses by hand and submit a photo via their cell phones.

For most subjects, the exams will be 45 minutes long, plus an additional 5 minutes for uploading. Students will need to access the online testing system 30 minutes early to get set up.

Certain courses—Art and Design: 2D; Art and Design: 3D; Computer Science Principles; Drawing; Research; and Seminar—will use portfolio submissions and will not have a separate online exam. All deadlines for these submissions have been extended to May 26, 2020, 11:59 p.m. ET. Teachers and students may receive separate course-specific communications.

Students taking world language and culture exams will complete two spoken tasks consistent with free-response questions 3 and 4 on the current AP Exam. Written responses will not be required. We'll provide additional details in the coming weeks to help students prepare.

To learn more about the rationale behind the exam content, watch Trevor Packer's presentation.

Dear AP Students and Parents,

 

This morning we received word from College Board that they are making adjustments to the 2020 exam administration due to COVID-19 school closures.  At this time, College Board has advised the following:

  • For the 2019-2020 exam administration only, there will be no face-to-face exam administrations. Students may choose to take a 45-minute online exam at home, or have their registration fees refunded.
  • Students will be able to take these streamlined exams on any device—computer, tablet, or smartphone.  Taking a photo of handwritten work is also an option.
  • We recognize that the digital divide could prevent some students from participating. College Board is working to provide the tools and connectivity students need to review AP content online and take the exam.  Please click on the following link to inform College Board if any difficulty exists.   
  • College Board will post the specific test dates and the free-response question types by April 3. We will continue to provide more information as it become available. Please click on the following link for the latest updates.

 

Daily Online Review For AP Classes

Beginning on Wednesday, March 25, students and schools will have access to free, live AP review lessons, delivered by AP teachers from across the country.  The lessons will focus on reviewing the skills and concepts from the first 75% of the course and can be found by clicking on the following link.

We are grateful that the College Board is working to accommodate our students during this difficult time by providing resources for learning and flexible testing.  We will continue to provide updates as they become available or on April 3 with the new testing schedule.

 

As always, please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

 

Sincerely,

Your AP Coordinators: Nelson Chen (nchen@wvusd.k12.ca.us) and Marta Dibell (mdibell@wvusd.k12.ca.us)

UPDATE: 5/17/2020

College Board has listened to the many complaints regarding issues with last week’s exams and is making adjustments for this week and the makeup exams.  PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING AS IT CONTAINS IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING SUBMISSION OF YOUR EXAMS.

 

Submitting Exam Responses

We share the deep disappointment of students who were unable to submit responses.

Beginning Monday, May 18, and continuing through the makeup window, there will be a backup email submission process for browser-based exams.

This option will only be available for students who were not able to submit in the standard process—and they must then email their responses immediately following their exam.

These students will see instructions about how to email their response on the page that says, "We Did Not Receive Your Response." The email address that appears on this page will be unique to each student.

Any student testing between May 18–22 who can't successfully upload their response through the exam platform or send it to us by email, will need to request a makeup exam.

To protect the security and validity of exams, we're unable to accept submissions from students who tested May 11–15. However, these students can feel confident that the email option will be in place for them during the makeup exams.

Email submissions will not be available for the World Language exams.